Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Hello, everybody! I hope you are all excited for the upcoming week! I cannot believe how quickly the weeks and months are passing…it feels like moments ago, I eagerly awaited Christmas, and now it is March! Though, I am not complaining. The weather has been rather dreary these past few months, but of late, the weather has just been absolutely stunning, and quite warm for this time of year. I adore winter, but not when you are receiving only the last little dregs of poor weather.

So, when I was younger, I read a lot. As in, a new book almost every single day. As I grow older, though, I have significantly less time, so I tend to be more deliberate with what I read, as I simply don’t have the time to read everything. I will definitely review those books on here for you guys, and let you know what my favorites have been. It’s a little bit different from the posts that I have been doing, but something I first intended to do when I started this blog. Let me know what other kinds of posts you guys would like to see in the future!

My two book favorites this month (technically, the last half of February into this month), have been Night, by Elie Wiesel, and Me Before You, by Jojo Moyes.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Me Before You tells of Louisa “Lou” Clark, who, after losing her financially secure job, is forced to take whatever she can to keep her family afloat, regardless of it is appealing or not. After several attempts, she finds a job caring for a quadriplegic man, who’s snide remarks and generally chilly demeanor cause Lou to nearly give up on him. However, she discovers a secret that pushes her into creating a life of value for him. It’s actually quite an odd, and unsatisfying book. Not typically a book I would pick up, but it looked interesting, so I chose it as my next read. And let me tell you…it is seriously cliche, and I’m not even sure in a good way. To be honest, it’s not really a favorite of mine…I just needed to talk about this book. It totally sucked me in, and even when I felt my eyes rolling from totally cliche things, I couldn’t put it down. I read the entire thing rather rapidly, and I have no idea why. Of course, there was the expected romance in the novel…I sat through most of it, going “they are going to fall in love, I just know it!”. However, the character development is interesting, as the reader steadily learns more about not only the main characters, but also of some seemingly insignificant characters. The voice is definitely present in the novel, which is a nice addition. All in all, though I wouldn’t read it again, it was an emotional roller coaster that I sort of enjoyed. Surprisingly amusing, and sort of a heart-breaker, would cinch my feelings for Me Before You.

As to Night, words are simply not enough to express my feelings for this novel. One cannot write a review that would do this memoir justice. Elie Wiesel is perhaps one of the most talented writers I have read from, and if not for the subject of his writings, I would most likely smile at the incredible techniques he employs. I won’t attempt to flesh out the intricacies of my feelings, for they would most likely fill a novel. Night, if you did not read this in school, is the recounting, from a young Jewish boy’s perspective, of the emotionally wringing experience in the Holocaust. Taken from home and tossed in the ghettos, his family and him lose everything, bit by bit. Transported from concentration camp to concentration camp, Eliezer loses family, faith, hope, and his humanity. This memoir had me in an almost trance-like state, for I, like them, could not have fathomed such a thing, such occurrences, could be possible. One of many keys to this novel, that Wiesel subtly relates, is that no one knew what was happening. Completely evicted from knowledge of the horrors around them, the Jews of Europe could not have known that such things could ever occur. Why would they? It seemed that at such time, humans were too civil to be capable of such crimes. And horrifically, the world remained silent, for fear or for misunderstanding, allowing the destruction of millions upon millions of men, women, children, Jewish, Gypsies, homosexuals…so many, that lacked the ability to speak for themselves, blanketed by the silence of those around them. As I stated above, I cannot even express my thoughts in a way that can accurately portray his novel. Obviously, it is not the only genocide novel out there. But this one is particularly hard-hitting, in that it pinpointed key points many genocides have. I won’t go into it any longer, but I certainly will tell you this: read, if only to realize a few atrocious points of human nature. After such, read up on the genocides all across the globe, that many that occurred after the Holocaust. You’d be surprised how silent those ones have been, as well.

Apologies for the suddenly very intense, and extremely long post…but there are points that couldn’t remain unsaid. As I grow older, my perspective widens, and novels such as Night are definitely a contributor to such. I have thought about this so much, as it has been heavily discussed in the class I read this in…

I find it important to hear all sides, so let me know your thoughts in the comments, both for Night, and Me Before You, and have a lovely remainder of your Sunday!


Follow me on Pinterest, Instagram and Bloglovin‘!

