IMG_0910

I absolutely love those days or moments when I can release my breath, and allow my self to relax. Sometimes, one just has those days or weeks, or even months, where they are consistently tense. Perhaps one even knows a friend or family member who simply cannot find the time to relax, or once they do, don’t know how.

Here are a few simple tips for days when you simply don’t feel at ease, and need a little bit to be feeling not stressed, not tense, and not unhappy.

1. Take a walk

Walking is a fantastic way to stretch out your limbs and get your blood flowing, without being so long and extreme that you feel utterly exhausted afterwards. This is also a great way to be active without really working out, for those athletic peeps that are on their off day. A breath of fresh air does a world of good, and sometimes seeing the beauty in life and nature is the most calming thing possible.

2. Read a book

I cannot stress just how significant this one can be. You could choose to read a simple, no-brain required book, or perhaps a more difficult one that has been on your to-read list for quite a while. Either way, it is a great way to just lay back, and immerse yourself in a world that is quite a bit different from your own (which is nice sometimes!).

3. Make a cup of tea

As you may know, I adore tea, and a great cup of tea and a book is how I settle down a lot of the time. Warm and cozy, it almost seeps through your body and makes you feel oh-so-relaxed…and it’s very easy to boil water, and pour it over a teabag.

4. Take a bath

I’m sure you all have heard this one before, but it is a very true and very lovely relaxation method. Pop some scented Epsom salts (to work out toxins for sore muscles!) or a colorful bath bomb in the water, and all seems quite a bit less chaotic. Sometimes, I’ll put my head under water for a minute or tea, and enjoy the ceaseless quiet under the water. Weird, I know, but it works!

5. Listen to music

Renowned for it’s endorphin producing qualities, which make you happy, music is a wonderful way to dance about the room, and release energy, or perhaps even to settle back and reflect on life. That’s what I do in the car on long car trips, and it is one of the best feelings.

6. Bake a treat

It is profoundly difficult to be unhappy when the smell of decadent chocolate chip cookies or a scrumptious loaf of banana bread wafts through the house. Therefore, perhaps give yourself a little treat, and indulge in the cathartic motions of baking, which are sure to produce something delicious! I especially enjoy doing this when the weather outside is just positively dreadful, and I can envelope myself in the aroma of cinnamon raisin bread. Yum.

7. Spend time with family

Often times, familiar and nonjudgmental human presence is immensely comforting. Spend a little time with your siblings, parents, grandparents, whomever, either lazing about watching television or even playing games, doing something that just generally makes you feel happy to be with them. Enough said. 🙂

Hope you all enjoyed my tips! Let me know in the comments what your ways of releasing tension and stress are. Hopefully you can utilize these to have a lovely remainder of your working week!


Follow me on Instagram, Pinterest, and Bloglovin’!

