1799618_1555847521337036_1050571184_nAs a runner, a way to log my time or distance is a must. If I can’t keep track of my distance (in an efficient way!), it makes following a training plan, for anything, sort of difficult. As I don’t have the budget for a fancy GPS watch that tracks all I need, I figured I’d give an app on my phone a try. I have gone through a couple apps that I just generally did not enjoy, and also neglected to try some as they weren’t free. I went back to the always trusty Nike, as I really enjoy their Training Club app. And they did not disappoint.

I cannot express how in love I am with the Nike+ Running app. Clean, smart and very good at what it does, it’s perfect for any runner, whether super serious or just jogging every once in a while. Here are a few of my pros and cons (a pretty small number of cons, I must say)…

Pros

  • It’s free: Unlike many other running or cycling apps on the market, that while pretty great, cost money, Nike+ Running is free. Which is great if you want to save a couple of bucks, and still receive great quality.
  • It’s easy to use: I have used this app on every run, from an easy 3 mile jog, to a tough 11 mile workout, and the ability to simply press “Begin Run” and go is really helpful.
  • There are a lot of customizable workout options: Once you click “Begin Run”, you can decide from a few different options
    1. Basic Run, which is the preset option if you have no particular time or distance in mind
    2. Distance Run, which allows you to select your distance, and also tells you the estimated time it will take you to run that
    3. Time Run, which is great for when you have a certain time to run, but no particular distance in mind
    4. Speed Run, which is something I haven’t used yet, as I haven’t done a ton of speed work (I know, bad on me. I just hate interval training so much guys!), but will tell you records to beat for a 1K, 5K, etc.
  • The app is aesthetically pleasing and easy to read: I place my phone in one of those armband-thingies, so I can just glance over and see my distance, without needing to stop and look. The new update made the colors a lot easier to see too and the overall app is just very clean and organized, with specific sections for everything.
  • It records what you need, and more: Nike+ Running goes above just taking record of distance and time. After the run is over, it will tell you splits, average mile pace, provide a map, tell calories burned, and even lets you log what shoes you wore and how you felt during the run.
  • Bonus features!: You can connect this app to your social media to share photos, get ‘cheers’ or compare progress with friends. Personally, I don’t use that aspect, as I tend to run individually, or with people that wouldn’t want to connect via the app. But I can definitely see the motivation bonuses of that. You can also hook up a playlist or any music and jam out while you pound the ground. As Nike has a wide array of apps, there are a few other features on there that I have yet to explore, but I am excited to soon!

Cons

  • Expect battery drainage: I usually keep the screen on so I can glance over while I am running, which I am sure contributes, but if you are considering a very long run, keep in mind that the constant running of the app will drain your battery. (I ran 11 miles last Saturday, and within an hour and a half, had a battery percentage of 20%, as compared to the 96% I started with!)
  • In run audio updates: Personally, I find a little voice telling me my mile pace and distance a teensy bit irritating, as it sort of interrupts my focus. Luckily, there is an option to turn off that feature, if you also dislike it.
  • There are occasionally GPS issues: Though pretty rare, the app does sometimes get off on tracking distance and where you are…though last time this happened to me, it was because I was weaving in and out of neighborhoods, and I think the app had trouble tracking just have much distance I was going.

I’m sure there are a few things I forgot to mention, that I’ll most likely remember when on my next run. Nevertheless, I hope this was helpful for those looking for a new fitness or running app for their phones! Do you know of any fitness apps I should try out?

*This is not a sponsored post, and all my opinions are my own, as always.

Image


Follow my Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and Bloglovin’ for more!

